I’m emotionally and creatively stuck in a slump right now. I woke up this morning, and felt myself unable to commit whatever I had been working on for the last week or so onto canvas. I even went out (a rarity on a Sunday) to run errands and to clear my head. NOTHING.

I think I’m going to run downstairs to grab a bottle of water, and a pint of icecream, and sulk while walking around the unfinished painting. In the meantime–

Artists I’m Feeling Right Now
:

  • Keith Cottingham.
  • Jimmie Durham.
  • Phillip Guston.
  • Raymond Saunders.


Video Isht
:

Tex Avery’s “Red Hot Riding Hood”.


Chuck Jones’ “Now Hear This”, which was nominated in 1963 for an Oscar for best Short Subject, Cartoon.


And lastly Jones’ adaptation of Norton Juster’s “Dot and Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics“. This from the man who also brought you The Phantom Tollbooth, which still remains a favorite of mine as well. It’s no wonder then, that I dated a math major. No, not that one. Well that– and I know how to work my way around an abacus.

PS.
Ike & Tina Turner's Outta Season
I can’t get over how perfectly on-point and brilliant that album cover is.

