Guess New York didn’t get the memo that it’s summer as it’s been raining nonstop the last week or so. I like rain– but I don’t like it that much. If I wanted to move to Seattle or anywhere else in the Pacific Northwest, I would’ve.


GS Boyz’s “Stanky Leg”.
Songs like this are my secret jam. I’m basically into anything that has a dance attached to it and accompanying directions, and I will dance with aplomb. Totally not kidding about this. I have chicken-noodled-souped, shaked it like a salt shaker, cranked dat (soulja boy), and done a myriad of other things. If prompted I can even two step, though sometimes I get carried away and try to show off and end up spraining my foot. Hey, it happens. Whatever.


Veronica Maggio’ s “Måndagsbarn”
I may be a quarter-Swedish but I have absolutely no idea what this Swedish songstress is saying*. I like to imagine this song is what Ikea would sound like if it was sung by Duffy.


Split Enz’s “I Got You”.


Matthew Wilder’s “Break My Stride”.


DJ Ironik’s “Tiny Dancer (Hold Me Closer)” featuring Chipmunk and Sir Elton John.
Grime! 70s AM Rock! Together, yay!


“I know I can/ Be what I want to be
If I work hard at it/ I’ll be where I want to be

Nas’ “I Can”.
This might be a side-effect of living in Brooklyn, but I’ve been listening to a lot more hip-hop than usual. Especially with the Brooklyn Hip Hop Festival just around the corner. The best part of this song? It’s super posi. It’s about believing in yourself, and working towards your dreams, no matter what they may be.


24K’s “Don’t Go There”.
Continuing on that posi-tip, remember this? When’s the last time you heard you a rump-shakin, feminist booty-jam? Outside of the late 90s?


Gotye’s “Heart’s A Mess”.
I drink the Gossip Girl Kool-aid.


Tracy Bonham’s “Mother Mother”.
My father’s been trying to thru e-mail ascertain thru e-mail whether or not I’m depressed. Truthfully? I am. A little. But I wasn’t happy at “home” either. It’s [being my mood] is something that might perk up once I’m gainfully employed again.


Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come”.
I like to imagine that this song is a precursor’s Etta Jame’s “At Last”. In the movie– that is my life– this is the darkest period of my stay in New York. That this last month post-being laid-off at Bagelsmith is where I regroup and have my Scarlett O’Hara moment.


Lele’s “Breakfast”.
Hola hola hola, oatmeal and granola…


The Smithereen’s “A Girl Like You”.
I won tickets to the Smithereens show next week at the Bell House courtesy of Erica of Fucked in Park Slope. Which is awesome. However, the following day I recieved an e-mail from a friend of mine who works there, who sent me a note telling me that I could’ve gotten free tickets/on the list at anytime, to any show just by asking. Which granted rules– but kind of diminishes my win. C’mon! Love you Heather, if you’re reading this.


Sarah Brightman’s “I Lost My Heart to a Starship Trooper”.
It’s like Abba on acid– you cannot help but see Brightman’s effect on  pop descendants such as Lady Gaga. Right? Right! A clear example of this is Gaga’s Love Game (peep the costuming).


Lady Gaga’s “Paparazzi”.
Ignoring the fact that the video features the super hot (and well evil vampire Viking sheriff from True Blood*), this featurette is a pop culture junkie’s*** wet dream. The video features shout-outs to Dr. Strangelove, George Michael’s “Too Funky” video (peep Linda Evangelista in vintage Thierry Mulger at 2:09), Madonna during her Blonde Ambition tour, the Steven Meisel ads for Versace, the triplets from Daisy of Love doing their best Warrant impression (please tell me I’m not the only one who caught “loving you is like cherry pie“), not to mention all of the designers she sports along the way: off the top of my head– Jeremy Scott’s wack-a-doo Minnie Mouse-inspired outift, Dolce & Gabbana’s Spring/Summer 2007 collection,  Marc Jacobs shades, Balmain shoes… am I missing something?

Let me know. I could watch this over and over again.

* I’m more inclined to suddenly understand what the Swedish Chef is saying. Børk Børk Børk!
** What’s with all the Swedes, this time around?
*** Succubus might be more appropriate actually.

