Hey everyone, I’ve got some exciting posts upcoming up. I’ve been clearing out all of my bookmarks and and my Google Reader with cool, new artists and hopefully more fun content. But first of all, can I just say that I am beyond excited that longtime friend and collaborator of mine, Sam from Studded Magnolia is leaving Florida to run away with me visit me in New York. I am beyond excited. You know what’s my favorite thing about entertaining all of my out-of-town guests? It’s not the fact that I’m spending time with someone’s company I enjoy (which sure is a big part of my excitement), or finally having them have context to my outlandish stories and adventures (there’s only so much I convey over the phone), or even showing off all of my secret places and dive bars (and boy buddy, I sure love me some dive bars*), it’s the chance to do tacky, tourist shit. Or to get away with eating at horrible themed restaurants. I live off that! I’ve already mentally bookmarked the chain restaurant we’ll have a boozy brunch at that has a Dolly Parton-themed bathroom (in Hell’s Kitchen) and Katz’s Deli for a pastrami sandwich for starters…

But enough about that, here are some jams that I’ve been listening since I dropped my last “mixtape”.


Stereo MC’s “Connected”.


Rye Rye’s “Hardcore Girls”.


Neneh Cherry’s “Kisses on the Wind”.


Ozzy Osbourne’s “No More Tears”.


Fine Young Cannibals’ “She Drives Me Crazy”.


Maxwell’s “Bad Habits”.


Rhianna’s “Man Down”.
That plume of smoke she releases at 3:55 slays me every single time. Also I think it’s extremely interesting and canny for Rhi Rhi to release this single right on the heels of “S&M”. I think it shows a well-rounded and greater understanding and grasp on what exactly is female sexuality and consent that I’ve seen in a while. Usually women, especially women of color are seen as sex objects in videos, but Rhianna is killing it by showing that complex can be sexy. Even is she is borrowing heavily from Dave Chapelle.


L7’s “Pretend  We’re Dead”.


The Kills’ “Satellite”.


Tom Petty’s “Free Fallin'”.
This is pretty much a quintessential summer jam for me. It always makes me think of sunshine, taco stands, and driving down the highway with the wind in my hair, and a cigarette dangling from my hand. It’s also been a song that I automatically associate with California and basically the entire teen girl mall-culture. Favorite verse?

“All the vampires walkin’ through the valley
Move west down Ventura Blvd.
And all the bad boys are standing in the shadows
All the good girls are home with broken hearts”

Also Tom Petty is actually kind of a babe in this. My lady-boners totally don’t make sense sometimes.


Foreginer’s “Blue Morning, Blue Day”.

“Out in the street, it’s six am
Another sleepless night
Three cups of coffee but I can’t clear my head”

Perfectly moody, and atmospheric. Plus I have too many nights like this.

* My friends sort of have a running game every time we go into a bar where they try to guess if I already know the bartender or not. Chances are, I usually do.

