If  I was  rich, like Oprah-rich, I’d charter private plans across the country to see openings all the time. I’d fly across the globe and visit Milan, Paris, and other international art cities. Or– I’d keep a stable* of young talented artists in a stable to paint, knit, sculpt and sew for me based on my whims. Nathan Stapley’s definitely one of those dudes. I’d fly to Los Angeles to check out his show at Gallery 1988, kidnap him and make him one of my pop culture boyfriends. We’d mostly hang out on my couch eating and drinking obscene amounts of Mountain Dew and Funyun and stay up all night talking about cult movies and public access TV.

Stapley’s current show “Same Gang” groups pop culture icons together by various shared characteristics. Some of my favorites below:

Nathan Stapley
“The Ramones Meet The Warriors”
Watercolor on paper
12 x 9 inches


Nathan Stapley
“18 Dads”
Watercolor on paper
12 x 9 inches


Nathan Stapley
“Cheering Up Curly”
Watercolor on paper
12 x 9 inches

For more information check out Stapley’s website, blog, twitter, and tumblr.

*It’d be an actual stable as I assume that the money would’ve gone straight to my head and made me insane**
** If I’m going to be rich, I’m also going to be insane. I want to be the type of rich person that isn’t “crazy” per say but is “eccentric”, much like the woman who wears gloves all year round, even in the summer.

